Compile Tora-1.3.14-1 from scratch

Help
Anonymous
2004-08-04
2004-08-19
  • Anonymous

Anonymous - 2004-08-04

Hi,

I'm a oracle user, some day maybe an administrator... And a huge fan of linux...
    As a newbie I would like some help to install from source   tora-1.3.14-1 for Oracle8i and qt-x11-free-3.3.2...
    After setting up ORACLE_HOME, PATH... Installed from source qt-x11-free-3.3.2... I tried to install tora... It seemed to complete the process successfully, but then when I tried to run it, there is no connection plugin... What am I doing wrong? Thanks...

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2004-08-04

Sorry I forgot to mention that I'm currently using Mandrake 9.2 at work and 10.0 at home...

• Carey M. Drake

Carey M. Drake - 2004-08-04

Do you have LD_LIBRARY_PATH set to include $ORACLE_HOME/lib, or have you added $ORACLE_HOME/lib to /etc/ld.so.conf?

For the second option, you'll need to specify the full path to ORACLE_HOME/lib instead of using the environment variable.

C.

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2004-08-04

Hi Carey,

Thanks for your reply... I do have LD_LIBRARY_PATH set... I do use oracle's account to configure and then to make Tora... Then after it's done I use root account to make install... So I dont know what is wrong!!!

gcc version 3.3.1

env | grep -i oracle

LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/home/oracle/Oracle/lib
      ORACLE_SID=ora8i
      ORACLE_BASE=/home/oracle
      PATH=/usr/local/qt-x11-free/bin:/usr/local/tora/bin:/home/oracle/bin:/usr/local/java/bin:/bin:/usr/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin/X11:/usr/X11R6/bin:/usr/games:/home/oracle/Oracle/bin
      PWD=/home/oracle/tmp/tora-1.3.14.1
      HOME=/home/oracle
      ORACLE_HOME=/home/oracle/Oracle

export PATH=/usr/local/qt-x11-free/bin:$PATH

./configure --prefix=/usr/local/tora-1.3.14-1 --with-qt=/usr/local/qt-x11-free
      checking for perl... perl
      checking for KDE include files ... /usr/include
      checking for KDE version ... 3.1.3
      checking for KDE print support ... yes