Menu

ICY BOX IB-3810U3 and snapraid?

Help
ari
2017-09-23
2019-01-24
  • ari

ari - 2017-09-23

i would like to know if this unit ICY BOX IB-3810U3 will work with snapraid. this case is a JBOD-case with 10-bays, connected through USB-3 on Windows 7 64-bit.

http://www.raidsonic.de/en/standards/searchresults.php?we_objectID=3410

i want to put 10 HDD, with 3 or 4 parity drives. all 10 drives will have the same size (6TB or 8TB).
    the purpose is to use this combination as backup-storage. everyday i would like to backup 3 GB of data to this combination. the 3 GB data are 90% small files (about 30-40kb, mostly WORD-documents).

maybe the first question should be: is snapraid the right option for my backup-plans? because i will make a backup everyday of 3 GB and the files are small size (30kb) files. this means everyday 3 GB is coming by, so my backup is everyday growing with 3 GB....thanks in advance

oh yeah...i am totally new to snapraid.

• Leifi Plomeros

Leifi Plomeros - 2017-09-23

The USB connection on the icy box is limited to 5 Gigabits/s, which means that if all disks are access simultatiously you would be looking at maximum speeds in the area of 50 MiB/s.

The default configuration of snapraid uses 256 kiB parity blocks, which means that you would need an 8 TB parity disk to protect ~1 TB data if all the data files are tiny ~30 kB files.

Microsoft office documents are backup-unfriendly by design. Each time you open and close an office document it is modified even if you don't do any changes and don't save.

None of these issues need to be deal-breakers by themself.

You could live with the slow performance.
    You could change the block size in snapraid to 16 kiB to better match the file sizes but you would then also increase the amount of RAM needed to 1 GiB per TB data stored (maybe even more to account for millions of file namnes and related things to keep track of).