Menu

Newbie needs help

Lou S
2005-10-06
2013-05-20
  • Lou S

Lou S - 2005-10-06

I am new to JSHOP2 and am trying to come up to speed by solving a problem involving several islands, planes, ferries, and trucks to move a package from one island to another.

I have been looking at the logistics sample problem provided with the JSHOP2 distribution and have several questions:

1.) Why does the 'same' axiom (see below) work?
         The tail is nil.  Doesn't that cause 'same' to always evaluate as true.
    (:- (same ?x ?x) nil)

2.) Where does '?city-goal' come from in method 'obj-at'?  What initializes it?  The only parameters to obj-at are ?obj and ?loc-goal.

I have read the JSHOP documentation several times but didn't find the answers to my questions.

Thanks

• Okhtay Ilghami

Okhtay Ilghami - 2005-10-06

1) You are right, the NIL always evaluates to true, but notice that the two parameters of the same axiom have the same name (?x). So an expression (same a b) matches this axiom only when "a" and "b" are the same thing. Of course, after this matching happens, there is nothing left to check, hence the "NIL" precondition.

2) Variables that appear in preconditions but not parameter list of their corresponding method/axiom/operator are existentially quantified (i.e., ANY constant that makes the atom match an existing atom in the current state of the world would do).

• Lou S

Lou S - 2005-10-07

Thanks for the reponse.  Unfortunately your answer leads to a few more questions.

>>So an expression (same a b) matches this axiom only when "a" and "b" are the same thing.

I did notice that the two parameters are the same. However what is doing the comparision?  Is the comparision implied?

Based on your response to my 2nd question, I understand that the result of evaluation of the domain state 'in-city' with paramater ?loc-goal is assigned to ?city-goal.  Is this correct?  Is the rightmost term always the one that receives the result of the previous evaluation?