Menu

PyClips register callable

Help
2006-11-28
2013-04-25
  • Marco Nawijn

Marco Nawijn - 2006-11-28

Hello,

I am a newbie to PyClips programming and are experimenting a bit with calling
    external python functions. Since the documentation speaks about 'callables' I
    assumed it would be possible to call Python objects that are instantiated from
    classes implementing the __call__ method. A little experiment teaches me that it
    does not. Am I doing something wrong or should the callable actually only be a
    function.

Example:

# This works
    def print_bar(*args):

print 'Inside bar'
         print args

clips.RegisterPythonFunction(print_bar)

# This does not work

class print_bar(object):

def __call__(self, *args):
             print 'Inside bar'
             print args

clips.RegisterPythonFunction(print_bar)

• Francesco Garosi

Hi Marco,

actually the problem is in using the class definition (instead of an instance of the class which has a __call__ method) to register a Python function. PyCLIPS accepts whatever has an usable __call__ method, and when you define it in a class, it's actually implemented only on instances of that class. In fact, when you use the "call operator" (parentheses) on a class symbol, you normally do it in order to create a new instance...

An example follows:

>>> import clips
      >>> class print_bar(object):
          def __call__(self, *args):
              print "inside bar"
              print args

>>> pb = print_bar()
      >>> clips.RegisterPythonFunction(print_bar, "print_bar")
      >>> clips.RegisterPythonFunction(pb, "pb")
      >>> clips.SendCommand('(python-call print_bar "arg")', True)

Traceback (most recent call last):
        File "<pyshell#26>", line 1, in -toplevel-
          clips.SendCommand('(python-call print_bar "arg")', True)
        File ".../site-packages/clips/_clips_wrap.py", line 3268, in SendCommand
          _c.sendCommand(command, verbose)