ptpd output statistic files

Help
Michal
2009-02-15
2012-11-23
  • Michal

Michal - 2009-02-15

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner to timesync (do my best to become an expert :) ) and I've just started playing with the daemon. I have some questions concerning ptpd output file. I'm trying to compare it somehow with the ntpd-generated statistics and need some help. I have 2 PC's connected with cross-cable and run daemon:

#1 ./ptpd -c -d -t -p -y4 -s2 -u 192.168.0.2 -f stats.txt (master)
    #2 ./ptpd -u 192.168.0.1 -f stats.txt (slave)

master output

state: init   .....................................................                                                                  
    state: lstn  .....................................................                                                                  
    state: mst  .....................................................
    I guess it won't give me any info when the state is master (?)

slave output

state: init   ...................................................................................................                                                                  
    state: lstn  ...................................................................................................                                                                  
    state: slv, owd: 0.0000000000, ofm: 0.0000000000, drift: 0, var: 0 .............
    state: slv, owd: 0.0000000000, ofm: 0.0002000000, drift: 200 var: 0 ..........
    and so on

My question is what 'owd', 'ofm' and 'var' means (I'm ok with drift ;) )  and how often the 'state...' lines are generated? is it 16sec (-y4)?
    Actually, feel free to provide me with as much help as possible as I'm not best at C development  (yet ;) )

cheers
    Michal

• dave cochi

dave cochi - 2009-02-16

Hello Michal,

owd = one way delay
      ofm = offset from master
      var = variance
      -y4 -> a sync message is sent every 2^4 sec = 16sec