Menu

PTPd on Windows

2015-09-22
2015-09-23
  • Niels Hornung

Niels Hornung - 2015-09-22

Hello,
    this topic has been discussed extensively but at the moment how hard is it to port this protocol to windows? I know windows has pretty bad timestamp mechanics, but maybe i need to port it for my work. I have very little experience in windows programming (came fresh from the university). I already tested this protocol on my Raspberry pis with great success with an accuracy of +-25 us.

• Wojciech Owczarek

Hi Niels,

Firstly, just to get this out of the way, Windows, as you say, is not a good platform for timing.

A Windows port of ptpd should be made easy once the modular transport and clock driver code is in place with ptpd, but it is probably mostly possible now using a toolchain like mingw-w64, with some exceptions.

Main points:

1. Windows provides no packet timestamping. There are no socket options like SO_TIMESTAMP. This can be worked around using libpcap / winPcap which ptpd already supports. Because there is no native packet timestamping mechanism and no kernel API for precise clocks, to my knowledge no NIC drivers provide a standard way to access hardware timestamping either.
    2. Time adjustment functions like adjtime() and ntp_adjtime() have not been ported to the POSIX toolchains like cygwin or mingw-w64. Some equivalent should be written using native Windows API. The existing Windows clock adjustment function can only adjust by increments of 100 nanoseconds and due to some bug (see note here), on some Windows platforms, adjustments below 16 units will be ignored.
    3. PTPd is a UNIX daemon. It will run on Windows, but it's not fully suitable as a Windows service as is. It uses flat text files for configuration, status output and logs. To be really usable it should run as a system service, and ideally at least some minimal GUI tool should be written to allow reloading configuration, maybe editing configuration, and displaying status.