Twips / CM or Inch

PhpRtf
2011-02-25
2013-04-30
  • Merritt Lee

Merritt Lee - 2011-02-25

HI Sigma,

This is a great project!

This is my first time using SourceForge and commenting on a project, so let me know if there's a better place to toss in my 2¢…

I'm pretty sure that a simple way to let folks use PHPRtfLite in inches as well as cms would be to do global  find/replace for     TWIPS_IN_CM and replace it with something like TWIPS_IN_UNIT or TWIPS_PER_UNIT or whatever you want  and have two lines in lib/PHPRtfLite.php line 36:

const TWIPS_IN_UNIT  = 567;  //sets global units to cm
    //const TWIPS_IN_UNIT = 1440; //sets global units to inch

Maybe throw in a warning that all your examples (awesome btw), are in cm and changing global units to inches will muck up the lot.

Just throwing this in because there are so many imperial measurements for paper, that is seems like a quick way to make this a more globally usable class.

Thanks!
    -Merritt (:

• Steffen Zeidler

Steffen Zeidler - 2011-02-25

Hi Merrit.

Thanks for the praise.

This a nice idea for supporting different units.
    I'll check, if it is not too late for adding it for the 1.1 version, because the release candiate version is about to be released this weekend, so we are not far from releasing stable version 1.1.

There is a section called tracker, where you can add feature requests and also, if something is wrong, bug reports.

Regards,
    sigmaz

• Steffen Zeidler

Steffen Zeidler - 2011-02-25

Hi Merrit.

I added the unit functionality. You can use a different unit by using:
    PHPRtfLite_Unit::setGlobalUnit(PHPRtfLite_Unit::UNIT_INCH);
    All widths and heights are then taken to be in inches.

It will be released in v1.1-RC this weekend.

Regards,
    Sigmaz

• Merritt Lee

Merritt Lee - 2011-02-26

Hi Sigmaz!

Great to hear about the paper support. RAD!

Excited for the v1.1 this weekend! :)