Menu

installation on macosx ?

2007-12-03
2013-04-30
  • Pieter W. Hemker

Thanks for making this available.  I'm a frequent user of Perseus and the Greek morphology tool.
    I hope that I will be able to run it on my mac.

However, I have the feeling that I need more information than available in INSTALL.html.
    I have basic knowledge of UNIX

With the MACOSX 10.5.1  (Leopard) running, I believe that Apache and some JDF are
    part of this system.
    Further, I have Fink running and so I installed  (in /sw )
    nr:    name          installed    version       
    1:    mysql          5.0.38-1003    Open Source SQL database    
    2:    ant                    1.7.0-2            Optional tasks for Ant    
    3:    ant-contrib    1.0-1             Additional ant tasks    
    4:    tomcat5             5.5.23-1        Java Servlet 2.4 Container and Web Server    
    5:    tomcat5-webapps    5.5.23-1     Java Servlet 2.4 Container and Web Server    

I downloaded: hopper-source-20071109, hopper-texts-20071129, artarch-0.9.1
    and I set up the directory  /sgml   (now containing the directories: reading, texts, xml, dtd)

Primary questions:
    - How to continue installation?
    - I cannot identify a file   /etc/my.cnf  (so I cannot make the adaptions as in INSTALL.html)
    - How do I identify $ANT_HOME/lib
    - How do I identify $CATALINA_HOME/common/endorsed/
    Also the remaining information in  INSTALL.html seems rather brief for me.
    How to obtain the necessary information  and -above all-
    will it be possible to install the Perseus Java Hopper on the Mac anyway?

Thanks in advance for any relevant information.

Peter

• Rashmi S

Rashmi S - 2007-12-03