Menu

Alphabetization of Songs Presents Errors

2008-01-20
2012-10-28
  • Mark Jacobsen

Mark Jacobsen - 2008-01-20

I have been using OpenSong at my church for over 6 months, and we love it! Thanks for such a great software product.

However, I pastor an ethnic congregation, and thus much of our singing is done in three languages. I have found that when I create any new songs in a folder, if the song title has an accented letter in the first word of the title (such as "Lève-toi" or "Loué Soit Dieu"), these titles are not alphabetized in their proper places when I am searching through a folder to find a song. In the above example, instead of "Lève-toi" being found among other titles that begin with the letters "Le", it is found all the way at the end of the "L" titles, after those which begin with "Lu". Creole and French (the other two languages that I use) both have many accented words, and this makes it difficult to locate some titles easily. If a fix could be made, it would certainly be appreciated.

Again, thanks for this great product!

• Ed Palmer

Ed Palmer - 2008-01-21

Thanks for your kind words. I'm glad you find OpenSong helpful.

OpenSong sorts files using the operating system's definition of sort order. Songs and sets should sort based on the operating system you are using and the language settings selected. This may not always match what you expect for various reasons.

What operating system version are you using, and how do you have your language and country settings defined? This will provide clues to how changes might be made to get the sort working the way you want.

• SvA

SvA - 2008-01-27