Menu

Help with inital setup

2010-03-14
2013-04-25
  • Shawyn Leininger

ok I'm new to all of this, but I'm trying to set this up anyway. Could someone please explain to me exactly what goes in the "db_type" field of the:

database        = db_type://username:password@host/db_name

I keep getting: Error 500-Internal server error messages. and it's the only thing I am not sure exactly what it wants to know.

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2010-03-14

That would be the database engine you've select to store your data - mysql for example.

• Shawyn Leininger

so do i need to use the version, like 5.0 or is just mysql ok?

• Anonymous

Anonymous - 2010-03-14

Nope, just the back-end database type as supported by Pear::DB -

so mysql:// or pgsql://  etc

Have you got PHP, Pear and everything else in the prerequisites installed? Is you database initialized and running?

• Shawyn Leininger

PHP, and MySQL are there, the database has been created and is ready to be formetted (for lack of a better description) with the http://www.webaddress.com/OpenIT/tools/setup.php but it is still giving me the error 500.

• Nick Vrtis

Nick Vrtis - 2010-03-18

Sometimes error 500 is caused by a permissions problem with the files.  I don't know how you uploaded the files, of how your server is set up.  But I have run across servers that will not execute a php file that has world writable permissions (777) and/or the owner is not the correct owner for the user that Apache is running as when it tries to load the php file.

• Shawyn Leininger

ok, I was able to us the setup script from the downloads page to set up the database, but after giving time for things to propagate, I still have the error, any suggestions?

• Stephen Trigg

Stephen Trigg - 2010-03-19

Have you actually checked you web-server (apache?) logs to determine the cause of the error?

• Shawyn Leininger