Menu

Help me understand how OpenDMTP works.

Help
ghardin
2011-09-10
2013-01-09
  • ghardin

ghardin - 2011-09-10

I am not a programmer and most of what I read in the documents and here is very confusing.  I do not understand what a "protocol" is and how to use it.
    Can someone explain HOW this works?  I have this basic scenario:
    A GPS tracking device (Telit 862) that we can currently send and receive AT commands to get GPS data via SMS.
    We can capture that data into a MySQL database.  And have been able to plot the data on Google Maps, but this is just not effective and creating some kind of server is beyond our abilities.  We would like to use OpenGTS to display the data, So we have these questions (and probably more) that we hope someone will take the time to explain in some very basic terms:

What is OpenDMTP and how do we get the data from the Telit using OpenDMTP into OpenGTS?
    Do we have to use some other kind of programming in the Telit?
    Is OpenDMTP a program?  What does it do and how does it do it? 
    How do we make it work with the Telit

• yassyboy

yassyboy - 2011-09-13

Hi Ghardin,

1 . in a layman terms "protocol" can be referred to some sort of Language, eg a Zulu speaking guy can only understands Zulu words or Only English Speaking Guy can only Understand English language. "English Language" will be the protocol between the two english speakers.

2. OpenDMTP is a small piece of software developed by Mr.Martin. It does 2 or 3 Basic and main tasks. 1 - Pulls GPS Locatoins from internal or bluetooth GPS devices, 2 - Establishes GPRS,Internet connection and transmits the Events & GPS locations to the destination Server (OpenGTS or OpenDMTP Server Installed with MySQL).

3. Telit 862 - After googling looks like its a GPS & GSM Modem not a Windows/Symbian or Java based device.