notepad.getFiles() only returns two entries?

Help
FriendFX
2012-12-12
2015-10-17
  • FriendFX
    FriendFX
    2012-12-12

Hi, I am very new to npppythonscript, but have been a happy user of NP++ and python developer for quite some time.

I am currently trying to get all open filenames in NP++, by using notepad.getFiles() …but that only gives me two entries, even though I have one file open in the left view and five open in the right view.

Playing around with re-arranging the views and order, the notepad.getFiles() output changes - sometimes, even files are listed which are non-existent (such as "New 3", which I had created and closed without saving earlier).

Am I using the wrong function or is this a bug?

• W P Blatchley
    W P Blatchley
    2015-10-14

I get exactly the same symptoms here. Has anyone else seen this? Is there a known problem?

• Sasumner
      Sasumner
      2015-10-15

I'm noticing the following behavior with NPP 6.8.3 and PS 1.08:

given NL = number of file tabs in the left (main) view
      and NR = number of file tabs in the right (secondary view)

notepad.getFiles() returns correct data when NR <= NL

notepad.getFiles() returns incorrect data when NR > NL. In this case, it appears to internally cap NR at NL.

To say this in a non-nerdy way, if you have more file tabs in the secondary view than the primary view, it doesn't return all of the files in the secondary view.

• W P Blatchley
    W P Blatchley
    2015-10-15

Yes, this appears to be a bug. Is there a formal way to report it?

• Sasumner
    Sasumner
    2015-10-15

You are pretty much in the right place (the right site) for reporting it. I don't know how committed the author (Dave Brotherstone) is to the Pythonscript plug-in these days. I hope the answer is "very" but I don't see a lot of activity by him here anymore. I think without Pythonscript I would not use NPP, so it is obviously pretty important to me.

• W P Blatchley
    W P Blatchley
    2015-10-16