[build]--Do I have to build in BC++ Explore

Help
Wu Xuan
2007-08-17
2013-01-19
  • Wu Xuan

Wu Xuan - 2007-08-17

Hi all,

I've been trying to download a copy of Borland C++ Explore but failed so far. Is there other ways to build the source in the bundle?

I'm new to C++ and not familiar with c++ IDEs. Thanks for any advice!

Xuan.

• Saulius

Saulius - 2007-08-18

Hi Xuan,

Borland Turbo C++ 2006 Explorer environment is available for free download here: http://www.codegear.com/tabid/144/Default.aspx
      What problems are you having? You cannot download? Or you cannot install the environment? I downloaded and installed it from the link above without problems.
      In addition, you can use Borland C++ Builder 6 (an older, paid, more stable version) for compiling the code in Originalcode directory on CVS.
      Zotric is porting the program to QT, after he is done with that, the project should support even wider range of C++ environments.

Saulius

• Wu Xuan

Wu Xuan - 2007-08-18

Thanks for replying.

I just downloaded successfully. Now I've built successfully a debug version. ^-^

Strangely, when I debug in BTC 2006, the environment hangs from time to time with no response, and I have to restart the environment, which make it even harder to understand the code fast. I wonder if you have experienced such problems?

• DavidG

DavidG - 2007-08-19

Hi Wu Xuan

I have exactly the same problem with BTC 2006.  It often hangs for ages and frequently it crashes when debugging.

Also I have found it doe not always build correctly (can't rule out a program bug though).
      One tip is always to do "Make All Projects"
      Another is to ensure that the build configuration is actually using the debug project. BTC 2006 sometimes seems to forget what it's doing.

The QT port is being done using Microsoft Visual Studio 2005.  It is going slower than hoped (but not entirely against expectations!).