Menu

makepp in native windows

Help
2008-03-05
2013-03-15
  • Nobody/Anonymous

Hello there,

I am new to makepp and I am wondering if any one here could indicate how much work needs to be done before makepp is working natively on windows.

Nyx

• Daniel Pfeiffer

Daniel Pfeiffer - 2008-03-07

Hi Nyx,

by native I suppose you mean without cygwin or mingw and using active state?  In principle this works.  Some windows compilers understand the basic Unix-like options, which makepp parses to find include files (-Idir) and library dependencies (-Ldir -llib), so if you can use those, you're safe.  Else commands parsers would need to be written...

It's better to use slashes (/dir/subdir/subsubdir) for dir-separators as far as possible.  I think I remember that you have to use backslashes (\) for commands pathes though -- not sure.

good luck
      Daniel

• Daniel Pfeiffer

Daniel Pfeiffer - 2008-04-22

Hi Nyx,

sorry for haven taken so long to fix a few remaining small bugs.

I've gone over makepp and the test suite, and now it's almost a perfect fit for active state and MS VS cl.  All the tests now work except for two small issues.  There is a new variable $/, which you should use in commands as a dir separator to make both Windows and Unix happy.

best regards
        Daniel

• Nobody/Anonymous

Hi there Daniel,

First of all: thank you for your work with the bugfixing.

I have a copule of questions:

1) I am in particual interested in how "make -j" works in makepp on Windows. This is a 
      problem with original gmake on Windows as I am sure you already know.

2) I am about to recommed a build system for a large company so I have to ask:
      Has the development on MakePP stopped? The reason I ask is because the last update on
      the homepage is rather old. Is it safer to go for SCons than MakePP? Personally I would
      prefer going with MakePP since its based on Perl. OTOH: if MakePP development has stopped
      this is not very good either.

Best Regards,