Loops in queueing network

Help
Gareth
2014-05-19
2014-05-21
  • Gareth

Gareth - 2014-05-19

Hi

I am new to JMT and queueing theory in general so apologies if this is a stupid question.
    I am trying to model a system, part of which needs the customers to get cycled around a loop with a definable number of cycles.
    I can't see how to do this with JMT as none of the routing strategies seem appropriate.
    I am actually trying to model a more "real-world" processes rather than anything computational.Perhaps there are other tools out there that would be more appropriate for my purpose?
    Best regards

Gareth

• Bertoli Marco

Bertoli Marco - 2014-05-19

Hello Gareth,
    you can use the "probability" routing strategy.
    For example if customers need to loop 3 times before exiting the system you can place 0.75 probability of looping and 0.25 probability of being directed out from the loop.

Considering just a single request this is not guaranteeing 3 exact cycles but, statistically speaking and given the large number of analyzed samples in the simulator, it should model well your environment.

Best Regards,
    Marco

• Gareth

Gareth - 2014-05-19

Dear Marco

Many thanks for the reply. I did think about using probability based routing. It is not how the real-world system will work but might be good enough for modelling.
      However the loop contains a queueing network parts of which would be sensitive to becoming "jammed". Hence I worry it would be sensitive to such randomness in the system.
      Best regards

Gareth

• serazzi

serazzi - 2014-05-20

Hi Gareth,