Menu

websphere 5.0 transaction rollback help

2004-11-18
2013-04-11
  • LottoMonkey

LottoMonkey - 2004-11-18

I am new to both websphere and ibatis and have been trying to use both to set up a new webapp at my job.

I have tried searching through the forums here and have tried follwing the suggestions to get websphere and ibatis connecting to my our oracle database.

But i have no idea how to commit transactions, everything i do gets rolled back by websphere. This may be because i simply don't understand websphere, but any help would be nice.

here is the connection string from my sql-map-config.xml. I had tried using the "JDBC" transaction manager but i couldn't get that to work.
    <transactionManager type="JTA">
      <property name="UserTransaction" value="java:comp/UserTransaction" />
      <dataSource type="JNDI">
        <property name="DataSource" value="jdbc/ORACLE" />
      </dataSource>
    </transactionManager>

I am using the dao maps as shown in the petstore example and the code:
    daoManager.startTransaction();
    admissionFormDao.insertAdmissionForm(admissionForm);
    daoManager.commitTransaction();
    daoManager.endTransaction();

I looks like this should commit the silly transaction but the log in websphere always shows a rollback and nothing can been seen in the db using toad.

• tbourdon

tbourdon - 2004-11-19

You may want to make sure the jdbc driver you're using for Oracle supports global transactions. Also, with WAS your DataSource value needs to match exactly with the JNDI name you defined. If you have a Server project setup in WAS you can check there in the DataSource tab. If you don't have a Server project I believe you can set the JNDI name via the admin console.

- Troy

• LottoMonkey

LottoMonkey - 2004-11-19

I am using a oracle 8i database and am using the driver located here:
        http://download.oracle.com/otn/utilities_drivers/jdbc/8171/classes12.zip