Menu

Axes and Plot not lined up

Help
saultyevil
2015-11-16
2015-11-18
  • saultyevil

saultyevil - 2015-11-16

Hi, I've started a project in computational hydrodynamics. I'm using GDL to visualise the results I get. My supervisor handed me some IDL code which he has working on his machine with IDL. However, whenever I run the code on my machine the axes and the plot aren't lined up. I'm new to IDL/GDL and the code isn't commented that well so I'm really at a loss on where to start or how to fix it. I've tried changing values of !P.POSITION but that moves the plot with it and makes no difference. I've also tried changing some of the arguments to TVSCL but that resulted in an even bigger mess. Can anyone offer some help? I'll post an example image of my problem and a snippet of the code below.

Thanks

(http://i.imgur.com/GSpyCL4.png)

;;;;;;; DENSITY PLOT ;;;;;;;

;!P.POSITION = [left, bottom, right, top]
    !P.POSITION = [0.15,0.728,0.45, 0.94]

plot,title="Density (log)",[0.0,npx],[0.0,npy],xticklen=-0.02,$ ;plot creates the axes
    ytitle='x1-units (zones)',xtitle='x2-units (zones)', $
    xstyle=2,ystyle=2, $
    yticks=4,$
    ytickname=yname, $
    xtickname=xname, $
    charsize=1.7

px = !x.window * !d.x_vsize
    py = !y.window * !d.y_vsize
    swx = px(1)-px(0)
    swy = py(1)-py(0)

if iplot eq 'ddy' then begin
    nm = 0
    ddn(,) = ddd(,,nm)
    endif

if iplot eq 'ddz' then begin
    nm = 0
    ddn(,) = ddd(,nm,)
    endif

tvscl,alog10(ddn),px(0),py(0),xsize = swx, ysize = swy ;plots the density image

Last edit: saultyevil 2015-11-16
  • Alain C.

Alain C. - 2015-11-17

1/ which version version of GDL and plplot are you using ?
    GDL> print, !gdl
    (thanks to large refurbishing of graphical output during last winter,
    I suspect it might be better with current CVS version)

2/ could you try to provide a small self consistant example ?
    (your image is smart, but we can try just with a DIST(npx, npy), isn't it ?

Alain