Menu

gnucobol on android / termux

GnuCOBOL
2024-07-18
2024-07-26
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • alex bodnaru

alex bodnaru - 2024-07-18

A few weeks ago I started studying COBOL with GnuCOBOL, and I'm quite excited.
    I extend a big thank to everybody here.
    To take it with me while on the way, I choosed the Android version, available already in Termux.
    By now, almost everything went fine, but one of my programs failed with indexed files.
    Indexed files on gnucobol for Termux were originally provided with vbisam, and empty .dat and .idx files were created with open optional.
    By the advice of @sf-mensch, I could change the driver to --with-db, with the result of failure 91 to create the indexed file, and no file created.
    The same cobol program ran flawlesly on Debian linux with libdb.
    To tackle the problem, I made a similar c program, that was able to either build and query the indexed file both on linux and on android.
    It should be mentioned, that libdb on my Linux is v5., while on termux is 18.1.
    I'll share here both my c and cobol programs, and [a link to my question on stackoverflow] (https://stackoverflow.com/questions/78730695/gnucobol-failing-to-open-create-an-indexed-file/78763195) .
    Here is my bug report on github for the gnucobol package there .
    I'd appreciate any help.

with your instructive support i was able to fix this problem and run my program on termux.
    my fix was submitted to the termux packages repository and i'll work with them untill it will be accepted and published.
    however, part of my patch is not termux related, and i'd kindly ask you to apply to original gnucobol repo. here it is . most of the fix is cross compiling related, and the configure file itself may an should be regenerated in your sandbox.
    my work was based on gnucobol 3.2 as per your recommendation.
    with many kudos, alex

🎉

Last edit: alex bodnaru 2024-07-26
  • Vincent (Bryan) Coen