Menu

gnat for MinGW

Rolf Ebert
2006-03-30
2012-09-15
  • Rolf Ebert

Rolf Ebert - 2006-03-30

I have some limited experience building gcc/gnat on Windows using the MinGW environment. I did so on a regular basis for the 3.2, 3.3, and 3.4 branches and compared the ACATS results at different optimization levels. I'll try to build 4.1.0 in a few minutes and I shall report my experience here.

Building gcc on Mingw used to require some specific patches to the gcc sources. gcc-3.x did not compile out of the box. These patches are developed and contributed to the FSF sources by the mingw maintainers on a regular basis. What is your politics here at gnuada? Do you develop your own pathces of the different packages or do you distribute only binaries built from vanilla sources?

Rolf

BTW, it is not that hard to set up a working MSYS/MinGW as the wiki pages suggest. Following the instructions on mingw.org works for most people...

• OCTAGRAM

OCTAGRAM - 2007-01-09

Found :
      gcc can produce Intel-syntax asm-listings

gcc -masm=intel

tasm32 doesn't want to assemble the result however. Maybe masm or yasm?

Another question :

Currently gnat for mingw is compiled from Cygwin. What about an Interix version? Interix is not a layer, it is full featured POSIX subsystem. SFU is available for free, Vista seem to come with SUA preinstalled. I think we'll have less problems if we switch to Microsoft's supported way.

• Martin Krischik

Martin Krischik - 2006-03-31

It would be very helpfull if you could contribute an MinGW port. For that I add you to the developer list.

As for patches: We do what is needed.

I think it is very important that everything can be reproduces as we are all voluntees are may suddenly not have the time any more to continue. In this case somebody else must be able to pick up where I left.