Menu

maintain file link when changing file position in the directories tree

sfpcom
2017-01-14
2017-01-17
  • sfpcom

sfpcom - 2017-01-14

Help from the FP community and funs, i like to receive suggestions for which could be the best strategy for managing files considering the following need:
    START: we have file linked to a node of a FP map
    II STEP: need to move the file to another directory in the pc
    III STEP: the link to the file must change accordingly in order not to copy the new link to the same node.

The approach of dview seemed to be acceptable, but currently dview doesn't operate in FP 1.5 and so on.
    Therefore I ask if anybody utilizes some other strategy to build the directories/files in order not to rebuild drastically all the links each time.

I think that this TOOL/METHOD could be another really powerful characteristic of FP for increasing the users base.

PS: i'm not a groovy programmer so cannot scripting

Thankyou.

• Alexandre

Alexandre - 2017-01-16

The way I see is through scripting: to provide some file that contains the 2 paths on the same line, the previous and the new one like this:

oldpath1 newpath1
    oldpath2 newpath2
    ... ...

Then a script would read that file and update the current map.

If you want to update multiple maps it could be done in groovy or another scripting tool external to Freeplane, like a bash script for example if you use Linux.

Alexandre

• sfpcom

sfpcom - 2017-01-16

my problem is when I need to move a directory with many files linked to some maps...
    so acting one by one seems very time consuming.

Maybeif i keep file names unique I may have a script looking for the file in the pc and changing the link...do you think it is possible?

Sfpc

• Alexandre

Alexandre - 2017-01-17

Hi sfpcom,