Menu

Help with uk fund quotes

Anonymous
2010-10-23
2013-06-03
  • Anonymous

Anonymous - 2010-10-23

I'm new to perl, so I'm not sure if I'm missing something silly.
    I want to get uk fund quotes, ideally from trustnet, as the yahoo data seems to be 2 days out of date!
    I have managed to get results using yahoo_europe as the source, but I cannot get any results back from trustnet.
    I've tried several fund names, but the code below uses CF CYGNUS.

#!/usr/bin/perl
    # import module
    use Finance::Quote;
    # create object
    my $q = Finance::Quote->new();
    # retrieve stock quote
    my %data = $q->fetch('trustnet', 'CF CYGNUS');
    # print price
    print "The current price is:" . $data{'CF CYGNUS', 'price'};

I have tried using the fund name, isin and sedol codes, but no data is returned.

Am I doing somethig wrong?
    Is there a more reliable data source than trustnet for UK funds using this module?

Thanks,

• Martin Sadler

Martin Sadler - 2011-01-30

I've had similar trouble. I've developed a new module which implements "ftfunds" to access the Financial Times website at http://funds.ft.com. This module uses the MEXID to retrieve information. The MEXID is a 4-6 character code, eg. "FIAM" for Fidelity American fund. Using this site manually you can use (part of) the fund name, ISIN, SEDOL or MEXID to retirve fund data although as yet I've only been able to get the MEXID working. I use the site manually using the name/ISIN/SEDOL to find the MEXID.

I'll post my module here on sourceforge.

• Martin Sadler

Martin Sadler - 2011-01-31

Ok, I sent my module to bug-Finance-Quote@rt.cpan.org - hope that's the right place. This is my first attempt at submitting to Finance::Quote, or any other project for that matter.