Menu

How to use EMMA

2004-08-04
2004-08-22
  • Jeremy Whitlock

Jeremy Whitlock - 2004-08-04

I'm new to Agile Programming and it's techniques.  What exacly is EMMA used for?  It appears in the documents that to use EMMA you have to run the actual application.  Am I wrong?  I basically want to add EMMA to my current build.xml file and use it to see how much of my application is covered by JUnit tests.  Is this what EMMA is for?  I just need an explanation of what EMMA is for.  Thanks, Jeremy

• Vlad Roubtsov

Vlad Roubtsov - 2004-08-05

Jeremy,

EMMA is, well, a code coverage tool just like it says on the front page (http://emma.sourceforge.net). "Code coverage" refers to a software engineering technique whereby you track the quality and comprehensiveness of your test suite by determining simple metrics like what percentage of {classes, methods, lines, etc} have been *executed* when the test suite ran.

What does “executed” mean? It means you exercise your application code using a “driver” of some kind. The driver could be a JUnit testsuite, a testsuite in some other test framework or it could even be a human sitting in front of your application and clicking on buttons acccording to some use case script. The driver thus “induces” coverage. The application code itself runs more or less according to how it is meant to run: as a standalone application, as a J2EE app, maybe even distributed over several machines.