Menu

Problem with static methods

2004-08-26
2004-09-19
  • Mattias Jiderhamn

I'm completely new to EMMA and just made my first stumbling tries on getting it running. It failed.

We have a J2EE environment running under Resin and there is something wierd already at application initialization.

There is a servlet loaded at application startup that calls a couple of static method. Method call one works fine. That static method makes another static method call, pointing at a subclass of the class declaring the method (that is A declares static m(), B is subclass of A and we call B.m()). When using the instrumented code it seems to just skip that method call.

I changed this code to point to the class declaring the method (i.e. A.m()), but inside that method there is a call to another static method in a super class (suppose A is subclass of Z, Z declaring static n(), then A.m() tries to call n()). This also seems to be "skipped". Even if i "qualify" the method name (Z.n()), the method is never executed.

I have no ideas on how to get past this.
    Any suggestions?

• Vlad Roubtsov

Vlad Roubtsov - 2004-08-26

Hmm, this kind of problem has never been reported.

You seem to think that calling a method defined in a superclass via a reference to its subclass matters here. I personally don't think it can. Just in case, I have tried to reproduce your scenario in a standalone program and of course all methods that I expected to get called were called, whether m() was referenced via A or via B.

When you say "seems to just skip" -- what do you mean? Is there an exception thrown? It is exceedingly unlikely that EMMA instrumentation just removes a method invocation from a class: it is purely additive.

• Mattias Jiderhamn

I have now had time to look at the problem more thorougly, and it seems it was all because of a missunderstanding or two.