Map Element at specific index in ArrayList

Help
kiran
2005-12-14
2019-07-25
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • kiran

kiran - 2005-12-14

My requirement is some thing like this...

I have a source bean which has a property whose datatype is an ArrayList and destination bean with a string property.

My requirement is to map the element at Nth index of the source property to destination string property.

Is it possible to configure this using dozer?

Also, I have an another similar kind of requirement where in the element at the middle of deep-field mapping is a array list and I want to map the element at a specific index.

• Franz Garsombke

Franz Garsombke - 2005-12-14

Both of those requirements are not possible in dozer. I do not know how we would map an ArrayList to a String? How would you suggest?

Sorry.

Franz

• Wojtek K

Wojtek K - 2006-02-13

Hi, I am very new to Dozer and at very begining I found similar mapping problem. Let say I have two classes:

class ClassWithList
          private List forenames;

class ClassWithProperties
          private String forename1;
          private String forename2;
          private String forename3;

I would like to populate ClassWithProperties with element 0, 1 & 2 from the property forenames of ClassWithTheList.

This feature would be very useful as we are mapping quite complicated Axis class to our simple domain objects.

Is it any chance that you would add such feature, please?

• Ben Sullins

Ben Sullins - 2005-12-17

Do you mean you know that an ArrayList contains a certain type of element (String) and you want to map a particular index to a destination object?

-ben

• kiran

kiran - 2005-12-20

Yes. I know the datatype & index of the arraylist from which I have to take the source information.

I could do this as part of my business processing. But thought it could be better to configure it as part of deep-field mapping instead of extracting the source object in my business logic.

• Franz Garsombke