Currently, the "quit" command will delete your character. This is counter-intuitive to most or all commanline UIs. One would expect the "quit" command to logoff or close the program, rather than deleting your progress.
I propose changing the "quit" command to "retire" or something similar.
Additionally, it would make sense that "retired" characters simply have their playerfile moved to an archive subfolder, rather than deleted. This would aid server admins in recovering characters that were unintentionally retired.
Committed in r21060, thanks!