Menu

non-standard compiler extension

2018-12-04
2018-12-10
  • Calvin Chan

Calvin Chan - 2018-12-04

Hi all

The description of CPPCheck supports non-standard compiler extension, but there is no further details on how to go about it. I am new to the utility and would like to try it out.

my code contains non-standard compiler stuff, e.g.

I declared an interrupt routine says keyIn as

@far @interrupt keyIn(void)
    {
    }

And also declaring MCU register variable, e.g.

uint8_t keyPattern @0x4000 ;

Here cppcheck points to the very 1st line of the file, as syntax error, (where the 1st line is a block of comments) and no way I knew that those @ stuffs further down into the file are the culprits.

Can anyone share any thought as to how to tackle those extensions?

Rgds

Calvin

• Daniel Marjamäki

Good question.

As far as I know this non-standard variant is not supported right now.

We should handle it!

I intend to look at this soon. And hope you can try it out. We will release next Cppcheck version soon so hopefully it will work then.

• Daniel Marjamäki

I am thinking about implementing a quick and simple fix now before the release. I would like that you test it.

What other keywords can there be after the @ more than "far" and "interrupt"?

A better fix will come later that will require that you configure the @ keywords.

Last edit: Daniel Marjamäki 2018-12-04
  • Calvin Chan

Calvin Chan - 2018-12-04

Thank you for your quick reply.

The compiler that I am using is from cosmic software (http://www.cosmicsoftware.com/), for STM8 series MCU.

Besides the mentioned keywords, the complete list is

@far, @tiny, @near, @eeprom, @inline, @nostack, @stack, @packed, @vector, @builtin, @noprd, @nosvf, @svlreg and @interrupt

For bit addressing, like bit 3 of port B (address 0x10) can be

bool PB3 @0x10:3

or
    volatile char PORTB @0x10;
    bool PB3 @PORTB:3 ;

and declaring variable:
    volatile char DDRB @0x05 ;

In general: can be @

:<bitnum>

Thank you.