Menu

Installing Everything - HOW?

2002-08-14
2002-08-14
  • Thomas E. Reed

Thomas E. Reed - 2002-08-14

All right. I've posted this elsewhere; maybe this will be seen faster. The equipment used for the SunQuest conventions are three PC's, with processors of 200 mHz, 500 mHz and 800 mHz processors, running Win 98 2nd Edition. Most have over 128 megs of memory. Each has a standard inkjet printer, and have 10/100 cards to network through a switcher.

Now for the problem of installing, since I'm not a system engineer or a sysop. I'm a TV engineer with some experience in building systems, setting them up, et cetera.

1) I understand that I must install Apache for Windows, MySQL and PHP on at least one machine.   Do these need any additional configuring to run, besides the stuff listed on the site, or am I going to have to hire a Microsoft Certifiable Satanic Engineer to set this stuff up?

2) Is the above installation, plus ConMaster, all I need to run the system on one computer?

3) Is it possible for our other computers to run on the same system by accessing the server computer on the network? Or do I need to install the entire software package on each machine?

Thanks in advance for the help.

• Tim White

Tim White - 2002-08-14

>The equipment used for the SunQuest conventions are three PC's, with processors of 200 mHz, 500 mHz and 800 mHz processors, running Win 98 2nd Edition. Most have over 128 megs of memory. Each has a standard inkjet printer, and have 10/100 cards to network through a switcher.

That should be plenty of power for the new ConMaster.

>1) I understand that I must install Apache for Windows, MySQL and PHP on at least one machine. Do these need any additional configuring to run, besides the stuff listed on the site, or am I going to have to hire a Microsoft Certifiable Satanic Engineer to set this stuff up?