Menu

Setup Linux Firewall box with colinux

Help
2006-10-26
2013-05-09
  • cavemancanada

cavemancanada - 2006-10-26

I am a student and total N00b working on a project to create a Linux Firewall/Router box to protect our school Lab Network.

I just started looking into colinux, and am wondering if this would be a good idea....to create a firewall/router linux box using Debian, colinux, and WindowsXP. Would this be secure?
    Can I lock down windows using the SP2 firewall, and have all traffic controlled by Debian in my Firewall box use? Or would I be better off having a separate Linux box.
    The reason having both OSs is the fact that WindowsXP and Linux have to both be available. I am installing Camera's which will work off of the Windows portion, and the Firewall/Router will run on the linux portion of the colinux install.

Is this possible? Is it a good idea? Would it work?

Please help the N00b.

Cheers,

Cavemancanada

• Dr Bill C Riemers

Possible, yes.  A good idea probably not.  The whole idea of a firewall is to have a physical separation between the internet and the intranet.  Traditionally, firewall's were done with proxies on physically separate servers with two network cards.  One card would be connected to the internet and the other to the intranet.  The idea being that in order for packets to get from one to the other they would have to pass through the firewall software.  The only machine a hacker could attempt to gain access to would be the firewall server, so that was the only one that needed to be heavily monitored.  Typically the firewall servers would be locked down by only running essential firewall services and only allowing access by an administrator using a direct console login or a hardwired serial line.