Menu

UI Ideas

Roger
2007-02-07
2013-04-23
  • Roger

Roger - 2007-02-07

Hi, sjcbulldog mentioned an interest in user interface ideas ... I have a lot of them.  I am a photographer by trade, have done a little light weight programing (don't really like it) - but I really like work flow / user interface challenges, so I would very much like to help it that area.  In that programming might change depending on the long range ideas / objectives I thought I would share some of my ideas early on.  No hard feelings if any are not appropriate ... if this is too much at one time just tell me and I will break it up into smaller discussion chunks ;-)

Interface thoughts;  A pretty interface isn't first about pretty.  It is first about workflow, then about ease of use and flexible / intuitive, and then about pretty.  I think it is easier to visualize when concentrating on workflows and going from there.  In other words, how each user is using the program, the steps they need to accomplish their goal(s), then from that the UI choices that accomplish and streamline that workflow.  So in my opinion each user that has UI ideas should identify the goals and steps needed, then ideas on UI to accomplish said goals.  Or if they are UI driven, then explain why they like that idea of the UI in terms of goals and steps.  I am sorry if this feels like I am repeating myself, but so much commercial software out there obviously doesn't approach the problem this way so I figure it might not be something developers talk about much ...

My need and work flow ...