Menu

QIF import issues

General
2015-11-30
2015-12-06
  • Prairiescaper

Prairiescaper - 2015-11-30

Hello. For some reason, I lost about 3 months of data when I closed my Buddi file while it was still showing the results of a search in the budget categories field. Now to restore my info, I'm trying to just use a QIF import file from my credit union. The problem is that the info that should be entered in the 'description' field is instead all in the 'number' field. The date of transaction posting is entered, the 'description' field is left blank, the transaction date and description is in the 'number' field, and the amount is entered. I am trying to use a QIF download to limit manual entry but this will not be the case if I still have to go through each transaction to copy & paste the vendor into the description field! I am not a programmer so I'm not able to tinker with the plugin myself.

Incidentally, I tried the CSV plugin but that did not seem to work at all. Though I received a message that the file had been imported, there was no data update to the file.

Thank you for any help you can provide!

• Wyatt

Wyatt - 2015-11-30

Hello,

I can't really comment on the various import plugins... they were written by third parties years ago, and have not really been kept updated.

That said, I would be very surprised if the data is truly lost and cannot be recovered.

First off, I would verify that the search is still not applied. Normally the search terms are saved, so they would show up when you restarted the program. Sometimes this happens with the search pane collapsed, so it is not obvious that the search is still there. I would check this first.