Menu

What matters most to you?

Adam Kumpf
2007-02-16
2013-04-26
  • Adam Kumpf

Adam Kumpf - 2007-02-16

I have my own set of ideas about what a good 3D CAD program should do, but I'm curious what others think. 

What matters most to you in a 3D CAD program?

Here's what matters to me:
    - Simple construction of arbitrary 3D objects
    - Easy and intuitive user interface
    - Both "pretty pictures" and "engineering precision"
    - Parameterized features
    - Open Source code
    - open file formats
    - project collaboration and presentation
    - support community for questions/help and part libraries
    - tutorials to "learn by example"
    - tool libraries to automate complex features
    - overall enjoyable design experience

I look forward to hearing back from others! :)

• bj_Sean

bj_Sean - 2007-03-18

Hi,
      First of all, I am very appreciate what you done here.

I am a PhD student of Architecture and very familiar with lots of CAD tools.
      However, I am more interesting about "collaboration". And the collaboration
      is just right on you matters list. You must get more pictures about it.

Here's what collaboration pictures to me:
      * Stream modeling format (incremental collaboration)
      * co-modeling on the air
      * historical path editing (allow different path modeling simultaneously)
      - model verification
      - conflict detection
      - then it can perform the "model reasoning" by itself
      * sub-model group with multi-tag notation function (act like hyper-link and can be found by google like search engine) to facilitate model reuse
      - geo-reference (in physical world it can be browsed with GPS) 
      - cyber-reference (in cyber-space/name-space it can be browsed by RFID-like devices)
      * Fun, Fun and must be Fun

I look forward to know how many pictures above in your pocket!

Best,

Sean Shih
      PhD student in Architecture from Taiwan
      my personal email: scshih@grandz.net

• Adam Kumpf