Menu

MenuItemTester fails to find items

Help
2006-02-21
2013-05-20
  • chausson sebastien

Hi,

I've been using Abbot for SWT for 3 months and it is quite impressive to be able to execute scenarios in this "simple" way.

However, I am still a bit confused by some failures that occur sometimes during my execution. These failures never occur at the same time/place in my scenario, so it is quite hard to debug/reproduce/describe. Most of the time, this errors are related to menu management : it seems that Abbot tries to use menus as they are not properly displayed. To sum up, I perform all the menu invocations using MenuItemTester.actionSelectMenuItem(menuPath, null, parentShell, delay);
    I arbitrary set delay to 100ms, but it seems that when executing on "slow" laptop or overwhelmed CPU, this delay is too short and that successive clicks are "too close" : the first click (let's say on the Eclipse "File" menu) makes the file menu appearing, but the second one (let's say on the "Save" item) occurs before the file menu has properly been displayed. Thus, the MenuItemTester, which uses a watcher to wait for a specific number of "item clicks" just hangs and my scenario fails with a time out...
    I didn't find out if displaying a menu uses an async call (but I suspect it) ? It could explain that issue...In this case, would it be possible to set "adaptive" wait condition : change the delay(XXX) ms to something like waitForMenuToBeDisplayed(), maybe based on "waitForIdle()" method... ? Any hints on SWT menu would be greatly appreciated.

Sebastien

• Ilya Golubev

Ilya Golubev - 2006-02-21

Hi Sebastien, thanks a lot for your post.
      Before it I used delay about 200 ms, after your post I replace actionDelay(delay) in MenuItemTester.actionClickMenuItemByPathImp(...) on
         final Watcher watcher =
         (Watcher)watchers.get(watcherIndex);
         wait(new Condition() {
             public boolean test() {
                  return (watcher.gotArmEvent());