User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
92
0
1
0
3
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 3 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • ziamrziamr
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    asd,

    Posted 04/17/2014
  • eween
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Exactly the kind of journal app I have been looking for, but lacking a few important features, and a little disappointing in the interface/design department. The word cloud feature can't be toggled on/off (it's a 'neat' feature which probably won't ever be used for anything, yet it occupies a big chunk of the window real estate). Not possible to insert relative paths to pictures (making adding pictures pointless - imagine inserting hundreds or thousands of pictures over a number of years using absolute paths, then all of them breaking because you had to move some files around on your system). The tagging interface is a bit clumsy, and not very intuitive. Also the tagging panel takes up the whole right side of the window, when it should have been integrated into the left side along with the calendar (in my opinion). The export as PDF feature is great, but I would like to see more customization in the way it looks, including page breaks. And finally, the most important feature it is lacking is an entry tree (like what you see on the side of most blogs, or TreePad). Without this feature, it's impossible to get an overview or conveniently navigate your journal. Your only option is to use the calendar, which leaves you feeling in the dark, as you have no indication of how many entries there are or how many months/years your entries stretch back. Oh, one last thing, in regards to the dating system. It would be nice to be able to assign ambiguous dates to entries. For example, if I have a journal entry I want to create, describing an event which took place sometime in July 2005, without knowing the exact day, I should be able to mark it as such. A good idea on the right track, which will be perfect with some more development. Red Notebook very nearly became the center of my workflow and life (I have been looking for an app which can replace my paper and pen journals for some time, and this is the closest thing yet), and I will be keeping a close eye on this project for sure.

    Posted 03/06/2014
  • nandrei
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I have been using it for about two years on windows, linux and mac os as a smart notepad. Always find notes and check out notes on the past plus nice backup. Awesome project, thanks for making it!

    Posted 02/02/2014
  • spitzz22
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Ok, I hunted around for ages looking for something like this. It does the job fast and used in combination with folder access and file launch and it's own little cloud can do almost anything you want it to. Simplicity in design is what makes it unique.

    Posted 11/08/2013
  • vv2cc
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    A good program (1.71). But a more advanced search engine needs. ;)

    Posted 09/24/2013
  • yuyutsu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great tool. But needs password protection, Can not write unicode directly. Should have reminders. :)

    Posted 06/21/2013
  • blaskrusik1978
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good project, thanks!

    Posted 04/06/2013
  • emosim
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent software, thanks to everyone involved in its development!

    Posted 03/20/2013
  • aplatypus
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Well I just don't know how something is calling itself 'open source' when there's no source code.

    Posted 03/07/2013
  • adriandavis
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    rednotebook works great

    Posted 02/12/2013
  • judithp
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Love this app

    Posted 02/09/2013
  • isaiahharrison
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    great product

    Posted 01/18/2013
  • liamhenderson
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Easy to use and works.

    Posted 12/16/2012
  • tommiee
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    simply the best open source software.

    Posted 11/23/2012
  • tfranklinh
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    An excellent app. Thank you for sharing your hard work. An excellent help page as well!

    Posted 11/18/2012
  • theirchild
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome tool, installed it on my VPS and have no need to login over ssh again

    Posted 11/07/2012
  • cookingpatio
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I like it - pretty stable and provides the major possibilities that i need

    Posted 11/07/2012
  • mshealthydiet
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great App ,Excellent

    Posted 11/06/2012
  • infoforparent
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Great App ,Excellent

    Posted 11/06/2012
  • shubinaann
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    modern cms can be used as private journal... your project is great. but wordpress more useful

    Posted 11/04/2012
  • olivercampbell
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very good program rednotebook.

    Posted 10/26/2012
  • satheta1980
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very smooth and non intrusive interface.

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • sculesbate1976
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best soft in the niche.

    Posted 10/22/2012
  • demidirin
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Awesome app, thanks for sharing!

    Posted 10/21/2012
  • mashtret
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very helpful, fast and easy product!

    Posted 10/21/2012
Show next 25 reviews