FileZilla Icon

A fast cross-platform FTP client

Read Editorial Review

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
880
23
14
8
281
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 2 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • sambaguley
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This download contains malware and should be removed from sourceforge. Even if you uncheck the realplayer crapware you still get the malware. Filezilla used to be a decent FTP program but now the makers are happy to screw up their users machines to get some cash.

    Posted 03/05/2015
  • wilderland
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excelent piece of software

    Posted 03/04/2015
  • franbailey
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I reported the malware problem to SourceForge 2 weeks ago, but nothing has been done about it.

    Posted 03/01/2015
  • tirramissu
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best for windows.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • krball
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Holy cow. Completely unethical and deceptive installer. I will never use FileZilla again, and I am going to actively support and promote alternatives amongst my user-base. While included bloatware that can be opted out of may be a fuzzy area, this Optimizer Pro BS bait and switch crossed a clear line, because: (1) it is completely unclear that it is being installed, and (2) it is blatantly malware that uses classic malware tactics to prevent a clean uninstall.

    Posted 02/27/2015
  • michalhantl
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    While I like FileZilla, I am really dissatisfied with them putting additional junk software on my mac.

    Posted 02/26/2015
  • johnkgill
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Loved Filezilla in the past. Never used the 'Custom Installer' however, so I'm not aware of any adware. Their latest update (3.10) caused me grief. Apparently they now default to Ftp over TLS. My web hoster does not support that or not properly, so the connection crashed. Had to revert to 3.9. The admins on the FIlezilla forum (which you cannot register for) say get the server fixed, but that's not in my control!.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • steve793
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I don't like the malware bundled with Filezilla, but I love the program for the odd file transfer. Does anyone have any recommendation for a clean file transfer application similar to filezilla? I know I can just use ftp/psftp but I prefer to have something with a graphical user interface.

    Posted 02/24/2015
  • chris4877
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Because the installer downloads and installs malware, Chrome and Internet Explorer are blocking it. After successfully downloading it through Firefox, I inadvertently "agreed" to install some extra bundled software, and there is no "back" button to enable the user to go back and correct the error. This is the first time I have ever seen this kind of behaviour from a SourceForge-based installer, and I think it must stop. What I object to the most is the installer's devious, deceptive and irreversible way of obtaining the user's "agreement." I'm giving this 1 star, because of the installer's behaviour. If I were to rate the actual FileZilla program itself, I would give it 5 stars, as I have done in the past.

    Posted 02/21/2015
  • drphrozen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Filled with spam, used to be good.

    Posted 02/20/2015
  • flittermouse
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    WTF, sf? FileZilla is excellent software. Like nearly everyone that wasn't born yesterday, I skip/decline crapware offered during installation and go about my business. I don't fault developers. After all, folks like Tim Kosse invest countless and too often thankless (and likely un[der]paid) hours on the software they produce. If they get a return from the crapware makers, I'm delighted. But when installer wrappers foist crapware on users at the expense of actually doing their job (installing software), I get pissed. I had an infrequently-used older version of FileZilla on a Mac and wanted to update it to the latest available. I didn't trash the installed, dormant FileZilla application before running the sf installer. After skipping through the crapware screens, the installer downloaded FileZilla proper and supposedly installed it (it said installation succeeded). But it was nowhere to be found in Applications (the old FileZilla was gone, however). I thought maybe it failed because I hadn't first removed the old one, so ran the installer again and let it do its thing. Again it falsely claimed success. I gave up and headed over to MajorGeeks. Downloaded the FileZilla application (as a bz2 archive), expanded the application and copied to the Applications directory. The rating I'm leaving here indicates my degrees of pleasure with FileZilla and displeasure with the sf installer. So where you see 5 stars, that indicates perfection for FileZilla and perfection of stupidity for the sf installer.

    Posted 02/19/2015
  • wernercdw
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    "Custom Installer" adds malware/virus'. Be warned. Steer clear of Sourceforge and Filezilla for supporting SF.

    Posted 02/14/2015
  • hopfen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Installs malware. Should be removed from SourceForge.

    Posted 02/13/2015
  • thx4210
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DO NOT DOWNLOAD You'll get no support on forums as they'll say it's your fault for not unchecking the option to download the malware bundled with the installer.

    Posted 02/11/2015
  • stevenaright
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Warning! Downloader contains malicious software. You can report this page at this link: www.google.com/safebrowsing/report_badware/

    Posted 02/11/2015
  • boo-sourceforge
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The malware that came with this now evil ftp client forced me to reformat my computer. Thank goodness it was fairly new with only a few personal files. HOWEVER...I can't get back the 24 hours it took get my IP accepted by the server that blocked me AS SOON AS I tried to use this new version of Filezilla to upload my new site. I am one that does donate to good software...and I don't mind paying up front (with a guarantee) either. I DO mind the deceptive tactics used in bundling crap like Taplika browser hijackers. Shame on sourceforge and filezilla for breaking trust.

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • mranderson1969
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The past few updates have been nothing but trash. The program itself used to be the best FTP application around. Recent issues have been ranging from taking several minutes to actually start up and run the program (they blame our NAS machines for that) to recent "failed to retrieve directory" after letting it sit idle for even a few seconds. They need to go back and find out where they went wrong and correct it.

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • cliffordex
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Sourceforge Web Installer contains malware, watch out if you intend to install!

    Posted 02/09/2015
  • gregnk
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very nice, easy to use FTP client.

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • buythiscomputer
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    DANGEROUS ADWARE BAIDU FAST COMPUTER ! INCREDIBLE THAT WE CANNOT TRSUT SOURCEFORGE ANYMORE !!!! BE CAREFUL !!!

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • scottkag
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Malware city - let the downloader beware. I declined all agreements except for GNU (which it required to proceed with install) and still received some extremely nasty malware. Do not use!

    Posted 02/06/2015
  • fnoyanisi
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    It is so sad that I have to rate this project with only one star. Sourceforge installer comes with bunch of malware (to be clear, software that you would normally stay away) and turns your Windows PC into a useless box. I would recommend anyone not installing this software and look for some other alternatives instead. It used to be a good project but not anymore, just stay away if you want peace of mind.

    Posted 02/05/2015
  • moremalware
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    What a scam. This used to be good when I used it in the early 2000's .. now its just a wrapper for adware/spyware and shit software that will infect your computer with its garbage. The authors claim its virus free, but I guess we don't view 'virus' the same. My view is pretty broad and general. Any software that fucks up my computer. Installing FileZilla_3.10.1.1_win32-setup directly installed shit on my computer that now I'm having to spend what limited free time I have removing. Thanks Filezilla, keep up the fantastic shitholeness. (PS fix your forums, i hate having to come here to leave you a note like this when we could have handled it all private like. I'm sorry I've used my hotmail address since 1995. I'm sorry that you don't like it. but, honestly, get over yourselves.)

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • ne0gen
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    MALEWARE INCLUDED!!! BE CAREFUL! Decline the first EULA's (Thirdparty-Software), then you can install FZ only!

    Posted 02/02/2015
  • jmst
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    FileZilla IS A VIRUS!!! It INFECTED my computer!

    Posted 02/02/2015
Show next 25 reviews