This project superseded by http://sf.net/projects/orwelldevcpp/

As of 2012-10-01, this project may now be found at http://sf.net/projects/orwelldevcpp/.

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
57
0
0
0
19
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 5 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • knix25
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    good, but not good, get orwell dev-c++ update

    Posted 05/29/2012
  • oid-2794238
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Maybe 6-7 years ago I would have said "Hey, this is an up-to-date and features-rich IDE." But this project is dead. Though wxDev-C++ has been added as a separate project to make Dev-C++ capable of GUI-design, it still doesn't mean you should use it. Dev-C++ is a project that hasn't seen an update since 2005. I can't say that it's not a useful IDE. The main problem (despite all those known and unfixed bugs) is the huge amount of missing features that modern IDEs provide to make the work of a programmer easier and more delightful. For those of you, who say "Wait a minute! Dev-C++ works just fine!", I'd answer - it depends and considering that it covers the bare minimum, it's much better to use an advanced text editor like Notepad++ in combination with gcc (MinGW or Cygwin for Windows) instead, if you don't want cool modern features. Not to mention there is Geany, Code::Blocks, NetBeans etc.

    Posted 03/29/2011
  • mkow13
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    very buggy (look at tracker - 358 known bugs)

    Posted 01/29/2011
  • joshdreamland
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project gave me a wonderful C++ "childhood," and as such, I will always have fond memories of it. Looking cool with my Dev-C++ icons everywhere, at least two instances open at any given time... But as I began developing larger projects, dev's neglect-fueled flaws became more apparent to me, and I had to move on to anew IDE. As it stands, as long as Code::Blocks exists, I cannot recommend Dev to anyone.

    Posted 10/14/2010
  • oid-2851172
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Old and too simple to work with. Try using NetBeans

    Posted 08/29/2010
  • qvasimodo
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I love the gesture of trying to keep it alive, but this project has been dead too long to be of any practical use nowadays. It's best to use CodeLite or Code::Blocks with an up to date version of mingw instead. By the way, the bloodshed.net domain expired and was taken by spammers, so don't try to visit the old Dev-C++ site!

    Posted 04/04/2010
  • oid-2866044
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I used to love Dev-C++ when I was programming in C++ in 2005/2006, but this project has been left to gather dust too long. There are plenty other free and actively maintained C++ development environments to choose from.. .and you can even legitimately get free versions of Microsoft Visual C++ if you want.

    Posted 04/02/2010
  • onomou
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I would recommend using Code::Blocks or CodeLite IDE. There are too many bugs in this that haven't been fixed to make it user-friendly by today's standards.

    Posted 02/22/2010
  • theflipside
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This project is way too outdated. I suggest to use MinGW instead which is up to date though it doesn't have a GUI.

    Posted 02/15/2010
  • evincarofautumn
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Dev-C++ is outdated and buggy and has been superseded by Code::Blocks.

    Posted 01/26/2010
  • groovounet
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Even when it was still alived it was so bad. It is so out to date, I wonder who could still use it ? Oo

    Posted 01/13/2010
  • reichsbox
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Outdated piece of development software, confronted with much better alternatives, these days.

    Posted 01/09/2010
  • fcembrola
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    The Help file are pathetic.

    Posted 12/11/2009
  • leeor_net
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Missing a lot of modern usability features. Ships with an out of date and buggy compiler. Hasn't been updated in years. Do yourself a favor and use something else.

    Posted 12/02/2009
  • mikea15
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    not updated anymore... Code::Blocks is better... And if you think codeblocks is not updated either, try the nightly builds...

    Posted 08/30/2009
  • midnightrun
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Out of date :( Use Code:Blocks instead.

    Posted 08/29/2009
  • igorgenius
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Delphi is not good devenv for creating good projects. Dev-C++ and its derivatives are not usable.

    Posted 08/23/2009
  • xtal256
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    *Anything* is much better

    Posted 08/12/2009
  • zxmikexz
    1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    got the lastest one, it wont even run its own pre-made hello world tutorial program. If you can't even run a hello world program with this then it's not even worth the time to install. I've used an older version that ACTUALLY WORKED before but lately this project has gone downhill

    Posted 07/25/2009