Menu

Word Wrap wxSFTextShape

Help
iwbnwif
2013-03-24
2013-10-30
  • iwbnwif

iwbnwif - 2013-03-24

Is it possible to automatically word wrap in an wxSFTextShape?

I understand that you can force multiline by inserting '\n' in the string, but I can't find a way of the text to automatically adjust to the size of the shape.

• Michal Bližňák

Unfortunately, the text cannot be wrapped automatically. If you really need this feature then, please, fill a feature request and I'll try to implement it later.

• iwbnwif

iwbnwif - 2013-03-26

Hi, thank you for your response and for a really great framework.

Yes, I would really like this feature - actually I have been looking at the possibilities to write it myself and submit a patch. Unfortunately I am a beginner and still getting my head around graphics contexts, device contexts and so forth.

For my use case I only need to display the text, it will be edited elsewhere.

Also I only plan to use the graphics context and not the old system (sorry if terminology is incorrect). This is because of the superior presentation with anti-aliasing.

A workaround that I looked at was to use a wxLabel control but I had trouble when I tried to embed it in a rectangle. My use case basically requires to draw something like block diagrams / flow charts with descriptive text inside graphics shapes.

• Michal Bližňák

It should be possible to use wxSFControlShape to manage any GUI widget as demonstrated in relevant wxSF sample but IMHO it is not ideal solution of your problem, It would be definitely better solition to enhance functionality of wxSFTextShape. Btw, see CodeDesigner RAD (www.codedesigner.org) which is CASE tool created by using wxSF (it is open-source project) for some inspiration…

• iwbnwif

iwbnwif - 2013-03-27

Thank you for the link to CodeDesigner. There is definitely a lot of inspiration in there and its an excellent exposition of wxWidgets.