Menu

Image Distortion

Help
tfij
2006-12-20
2013-05-28
  • tfij

tfij - 2006-12-20

Sorry to be absolutely ignorant if I am on the subject, but I will admit this is my first time to experiment with downloading my TiVo (where I thought it was impossible with a Mac).

Two things:

The video has a thin fuzzy/static (snowy television) bar across the top of the image.  Obviously, this is petty, however, annoying while watching something.  Any ways to get that off?  I'm sure there is a possiblity of some editing software being used, but if there is just a simple setting in TiVoDecode to be flipped, that'd be much easier.  Or maybe this "flaw" is the inevitable and I should just feel lucky to have downloaded some TiVo on my Mac.

Also, the video is stretched vertically.  It's almost an apparent 4:7.  I do not have HD, so it should be standard 4:3.  Anyway to quench this insatiable desire to watch a better quality?

Thanks,
    joel

• tfij

tfij - 2006-12-20

Forgot something.... I probably upsetted some of you by forgetting this too.

I have VLC.  I know I can adjust the aspect ratio there to 4:3 and watch it fine... minus being able to get rid of the fuzzy line, I'm at least able to fix the proportion.

My biggest deal is wanting to put these videos on DVD to watch externally.  Granted, I haven't tried burning them too DVD, I just don't want to waste the length of time it takes to burn these only to find out the quality is as is still.

I only have iDVD at the moment, maybe another program allows me to adjust the aspect ratio?  Or maybe iDVD does as well?

So to finish it off... if there is a switch to be flipped in TiVo decode to convert with the natural aspect ratio, what might it be?

A cure for the thin snowy bar?

And a way to burn it with the right aspect ratio onto DVD?

Thanks again,
      Joel

• Josh Harris

Josh Harris - 2006-12-20