Menu

Prioritizing Downloads

Help
Gene Soo
2008-07-27
2013-05-02
  • Gene Soo

Gene Soo - 2008-07-27

Forgive me if this is an easy answer but I am a newbie to ShareazaPlus and P2P clients. I am running into download completion problems because I have a number of Downloads queued but the Network/ShareazaPlus is not completing the Downloads prior to the Sources drying up and going offline. I have several posts with over 90% download complete and still showing at least 1 Source(in fact several with 2 or more). Their Status is Active. I have tried "Scan For More Sources" to see if I could influence reconsideration of the current downloads getting time/resources however this does not seem to work. It appears that these decisions are controlled by the server. I have seen and partially attempted to Pause All posts with the exceptions of the ones I want to force complete but this did not seem to take immediate effect so I gave up on that approach. Can anyone fill me in on a solution to this problem? This is very non-productive to have invested all the way up to 99.9% complete and then lose the last remaining source to complete the file.

Thanks in advance.

Gene

• Datz

Datz - 2008-07-29

Hi Gene Soo,
      Unfortunately, your problem is a common one.  Sources (such as yourself if you are sharing files) come and go on peer to peer networks as you know.  ShareazaPlus will hold on to the source if they go offline, and retry them periodically.  If the source fails after a certain number of tries, it will be dropped.  ShareazaPlus will look for new sources periodically as well, but the search it performs is limited, as to not burden the network greatly.  With a rare file, it is sometimes a good idea to search for it yourself on the network.  The most efficient way to do this is to search for the file with a unique identifier of it, its "hash".