Team of robots : sharing data

Help
Dorian
2014-04-03
2014-04-06
  • Dorian

Dorian - 2014-04-03

Hi, I'm new to Robocode,

I've been trying out stuff related to team battles.
    I have one leader and 4 robots (no droids), the 5 of them are actually born from the same class.
    The leader still is the one in control : it gives order to the other ones, but if it dies, it can give the leadership to another robot.

Since they are from the same class, I thought they could share data in static fields, but it appears it doesn't work. Seems like static fields only allow a robot to keep data through the different rounds of a battle.

Is there a way to have fields shared by different bots?
    I know I can share data through messages (broadcastMessage), but, for example, if I want my leader to keep data in a class "FieldMonitor", when it dies, another robot will receive leadership and the instance of FieldMonitor, so it will be able to keep updating it.
    However, next round, leadership will go back to my robotnumber 1 (the one with 200 energy), but everything that was writtent in my FieldMonitor by my subtitute leader will be lost, won't it?

I guessed my only option was to write my data in a file (an XML should be a good solution), but reading / writing in a file could be a problem as it will make my code heavier and might change my bot's division (nano bot, big bot, mega bot, etc...), so any other solution could come in handy.

Thanks in advance !
    (PS : I hope I made myself clear, I'm not an english native speaker !)

• Flemming N. Larsen

Hi Dorian,

Static data fields are cleaned (set to null, false, 0 depending on the field type) by Robocode between each round. This is done in order to prevent memory leaks, e.g. when robots uses large data sets with circular references, which causes memory leaks and severe performance problems, e.g. with RoboRumble when running thousands of battles.