Menu

If checkboxes are not possible, a hot key for "strikethrough?"

2013-12-17
2014-09-08
  • pekingduckman

pekingduckman - 2013-12-17

Thank you again for creating the best post-it notes program I've come across (and I've been using these programs for almost 10 years now!).

I use PNotes for my to-do lists, as I'm sure many other users do as well. I would love integrated check boxes, but I saw from a search that this functionality is not possible (https://sourceforge.net/p/pnotes/discussion/762672/thread/1adee22c/).

Given that fact, I would like to suggest adding a keyboard shortcut for strikethrough, so that users can more easily and quickly manage to-do lists.

I know you receive a lot of features requests, but I think this would be a particularly high yield function because 1) so many people use post-its for to-do's and 2) for those people, it could save a LOT of time.

Each time I finish a to-do, I Alt-Tab back to my PNotes "to do" note, I use keyboard shortcuts to highlight that particular task--but then I have to manually use the mouse to navigate over to the "strikethrough" icon, and I'm further slowed down because I have to be precise about the navigation since the icon is quite small.

This last step would be an ideal action to automate with a keyboard shortcut, since I do it so frequently every day (and if I don't...shame on me for being lazy =)). It ends up being one the actions I perform most frequently in PNotes, doing it dozens of times a day. So having a keyboard shortcut would be massively helpful.

(As a concrete example, in OneNote, keyboard shortcuts make creating and using to-do lists extremely easy and fast: I add a checkbox with "Ctrl+1," check the box with "Ctrl+1," and, if necessary, can also uncheck the box with "Ctrl+1." But I like PNotes better, and would prefer to use PNotes for my to-do lists, provided I were able to manage them more quickly).