Software Distribution. Win-Get

Manager
idar
2007-10-29
2013-05-02
  • idar

idar - 2007-10-29

Hi,
    i have setup all the parts server,manager and agents. I can contact my workstations also. I have never used win-get before. Can anyone be helpful to tell hoe to distribut softwares. I have uploaded acrobat in the upload directory under xamp. I can see it while browsing it through I.E.
    but when i create the pachkage in the manager gui do i have to use URL or Upload File. i have tried both URL fails and upload directory doesnt work either. I know i am doing something wrong. Can someone explian me in simple steps for both options how to acieve that.
    Secondly how can i add computers to Pc groups. I have created a group but i cant see and pc in Pc list.....
    And  the last thing how do i go about jobs or scheduling jobs.

I would appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance

• kalohr

kalohr - 2007-10-29

In order to deliver software you will have to create a software package and then a job that will deliver it to any station. Finally you will associate the job with the stations (drag and drop) and the software will be delivered

In more detail, you will have to follow these steps:
      1) create a package by double clicking in the packages node on the tree resting at the left pine, or by clicking the packages icon from the tool bar, or from the menus
      2) use the package creation form to upload your package on the server and thus create a managemable package for the software you want to deliver
      3) then you will have to create a new job. Use the job creation form from the menus or the toolbar. Create a software delivery job. It can be either an install/unistall, silent or not. Choose whatever appropriate
      4) Check the job in the tree of entities (jobs, machines, groups, packages) and the machines you want it to run to.
      5) press the run button from the menu bar

I hope this helps

Kalohr

• idar

idar - 2007-10-29

Hi,