Menu

Access Denied Error in MFCaptureAlt sample

2015-08-25
2015-08-27
  • Brian Hanline

Brian Hanline - 2015-08-25

I just downloaded Media Foundation .NET along with the samples. I built the MFCaptureAlt sample and executed on my tablet. When I select a camera, the sample throws a COM exception: -2147024891 - Access Denied.

Since I'm totally new to this, I'm sure its something I did. Can anyone help?

I'm running: Windows 8.1. I compiled the sample in Visual Studio 2013.

Question: Do I need to "install" the MediaFoundation.dll somehow? I simply made a reference to it from the sample application.

Question: Can I assume Microsoft Media Foundation is already installed and available on my Windows 8.1 tablet?

Thanks,

Brian

• snarfle

snarfle - 2015-08-26

What line is throwing the exception? It wouldn't happen to be trying to load c:\lgs.jpg and not finding it?

• Brian Hanline

Brian Hanline - 2015-08-26

It is line 86 in WinMain. Please see attached screen print It appears to be setting the selected device.

I select a camera from the drop down and hit OK. Line 85 calls m_pPreview.SetDevice() with the selected device. That call returns a negative value. On line 86, MFError sees the negative return code and throws the exception.

Note that I am running visual studio on my desktop and remotely debugging on the tablet. But, the same error is thrown when I run locally on the tablet.

Thanks for repsonding so quickly.

Brian

• Brian Hanline

UPDATE: I've traced it further into class CPreview. The line that causes hr to turn negative is 237 in CPreview.cs:

int hr = MFExtern.MFCreateSinkWriterFromURL(
                OutputFileName,
                null,
                null,
                out m_pWriter
                );

That line returns -2147024891.

• Brian Hanline

UPDATE: Sorry for the running comentary but...