#463 Block name is still reserved after deletion

2.0
open
nobody
5
3 hours ago
2014-04-07
LordOfBikes
No

Create a block, e.g. test1
Then delete the block, the block list is empty
Create a new block test1 again, LC says that a block with name test1 already exists

Related

Bugs: #488

Discussion

  • Dongxu Li
    Dongxu Li
    2014-05-04

    this behavior is by design. in order to enable "undo" for block deletion, a deleted block is not removed from storage, only labelled as "deleted", therefore, creating a new block with the same name is not possible.

    there's no easy solution here. We can delete this block permenantly, whenever user requests a new block with the same name, but it's not perfect either.

     
  • Dongxu Li
    Dongxu Li
    3 hours ago

    another solution:

    if user requests a new block name which is taken by a deleted block, we can silently rename the deleted block.