2001-11-19
2013-05-02
  • Nobody/Anonymous

Syntax highlight would be nice :-).

• Nobody/Anonymous

Same thoughts here.

• Marek Grac

Marek Grac - 2002-05-14

It is not too easy to implement it because lack of time, lack of documentation. we will try to do our best, but it can took time. I'll try to do several things as soon as my exam period will be finished :)

marx

• David Phillips

David Phillips - 2002-07-22

Is JOE still being developed?  I would like to help add syntax highlighting.  I am an experienced C coder (7 years for UNIX and Windows).  How can I help?

• Vitezslav Samel

Vitezslav Samel - 2003-08-29

Help? You can ry to understand the joe code and come up with some suitable solution (even better with some code).

• Nobody/Anonymous

Maybe a cool start would be to see how Nedit's (www.nedit.org) syntax lighting works and maye be make Joe compatible with Nedit's pattern ?

I don't know how to help but I can do testing on this...

djame (seddah@loria.fr)

• Nobody/Anonymous

Syntax highlighting is over rated.  I may be the only person on Earth who thinks that.  I have no use for it.

• Tobias Mathes

Tobias Mathes - 2004-03-21

As long I monitor the project, syntax highlighting is the most wanted features for joe.

I love joe, I don't use any other editor, BUT to have syntax highlighting would be veeery great. Sometimes it's just needed, not everytime but often enough to have it implemented.

• Joe Allen

Joe Allen - 2004-03-24

I just checked in the first bits of syntax highlighting
      for JOE.

Hit ^T H to enable it.  The termcap entry must show support for color (Sb, Sf, ut capabilities).  The Linux console entry tends to have these capabilities, but many xterms don't.  I'll probably add a flag which makes joe assume that ansi color
      exists even if the termcap entries are missing.

Also, support is limited to C language, 1024 byte line length limit, likely to be lots of bugs, etc., but it's a start.