Menu

Informix compatible and tunning.

Help
2013-05-13
2013-06-17
  • Cesar Martins

Cesar Martins - 2013-05-13

Hi ,
    Just discovery about JAILER this week and start test it (v4.0.14) with IBM Informix 11.50 .

I'm still learning how it works and like to do some suggestions and correction :

• Suggestion: on jailer.xml for Informix map field. Is missing the binserial -> bigint .
      If not included occur an error during the export , create table (2 serials fields on the same table).
    • Question: Where I found any documentation about the scripts (scripts folder) and if I can create them for Informix?
      My objective is check/test the possibility for developer instances try active the compression over jailer_* tables and minimize the disk space consumption and have better performance.
    • Suggestion: I observe they use transaction during the export and there no FKs on jailer_ tables, this is really needded? Is there some way to disable this transaction and alter the jailer_ tables to RAW type (~= not logged on Oracle) where they will not have suffer control of transactions , lowering the overheading and speedup the process. (sinaxe : create RAW table)
    • Question: I was included the the createtableprefix , but don't have any effect. Why?
    • Informix have a SQL Limit Suffix too, the "FIRST #" keyword , what work like the TOP of MS SQL : select first 10 * from ....
      I include it into the XML, but don't see it begin used at the database.
    • Question: How I know if they will if the configuration was "take" and will be used ?

This the configuration what I trying work....

<bean class="net.sf.jailer.Configuration">
            <property name="urlPattern" value="jdbc:informix.*" />
            <property name="varcharLengthLimit" value="255" />
            <property name="typeReplacement">
                <map>
                    <entry key="datetime" value="datetime year to fraction"/>
                    <entry key="serial" value="int"/>