Menu

Automatically forward the received fax by Ema

Help
Gio
2009-03-30
2013-05-13
  • Gio

Gio - 2009-03-30

The Subject should be: How to automatically forward the received faxes via Email to a e-mail address?

Hello!

first, sorry about my terrible english! second, i am totally new in Linux and in efax-gtk.

Ok, i want use a "server" with debian and efax-gtk only for receiving faxes and automatically send (forward) the received faxes by E-mail.

At the binning i was using a internal modem, and it was a very strange thing because after a lot of trys, and with the linuxant drivers, it was not possible to use it.
    Now i have plug in a serial-external-older modem and with the first try i get a fax as a file.
    !***
    For sending i get the following error code:
    efax-0.9a: 18:13:17 opened /dev/ttyS0
    efax-0.9a: 18:13:19 using SupraExpress 336e V+ Intl in class 1
    efax-0.9a: 18:13:19 dialing P2310254037
    efax-0.9a: 18:13:24 Error: dial command failed
    efax-0.9a: 18:13:24 failed page /home/gio/scans/Veveosi ETAA -
    Rantzoglou.ps.001
    efax-0.9a: 18:13:25 finished - unrecoverable error
    !***
    but ok as i told before, i don't want at the moment send faxes... just for the history... A) i don't know what means the letter "P" before the dialing number and B) i have open a jpeg and save this with Gimp as a Postscript file the file became a ".ps" and i was using this file for truing to send.

Anyway... let me stay to my real question... but remember i am very young in Linux!

? What i have to do, to "automatically e-mail a received fax" like it is written in the Description of the package in the debian packages area of www.debian.org?

or (the same question in another way)

? What should i do, to get every incoming fax from the office place when i am in my _friends place, automatically to my e-mail?

I am very glad for every help!!!

• Chris Vine

Chris Vine - 2009-03-30