Menu

Trouble reading pagelabel dictionary from existing PDF

Help
Jamie
2014-10-12
2015-04-17
  • Jamie

Jamie - 2014-10-12

I’m new to PDFClown and I’m having trouble getting the pagelabel dictionary out of an existing file. I started with some of the code in the pagelabel example, converted it to VB.net, and I get a null reference error in the line that iterates through the pagelabel key/value pairs. I copied the very similar code from the parse example that gets the meta data and it works fine. Getting the number of pages also works. Am I misunderstanding something about how this needs to be done?

Here is what I have. I’m working from memory here, I don’t have my code in front of me.

:::Visual Basic.NET
    Imports org.pdfclown.documents
    Imports org.pdfclown.documents.contents
    Imports org.pdfclown.documents.contents.composition
    Imports org.pdfclown.documents.contents.objects
    Imports org.pdfclown.documents.interaction.navigation.page
    Imports org.pdfclown.files
    Imports org.pdfclown.objects

Imports System.Collections.Generic
    Imports System.Drawing

Public Class PageLabelSample
        Inherits Sample
        Public Sub Run()

' 1. Opening the PDF file...
                Dim filePath As String = PromptFileChoice("Please select a PDF file")
                Using myfile As New File(filePath)
                    Dim mydocument As Document = myfile.Document

' 2. Defining the page labels...
                    Dim mypageLabels As PageLabels = mydocument.PageLabels

' The next line generates the error
                        For Each entry As KeyValuePair(Of PdfInteger, PageLabel) In mypageLabels

Console.WriteLine("Page label " + entry.Value.BaseObject)
                        Console.WriteLine("    Initial page: " + (entry.Key.IntValue + 1))
                        Console.WriteLine("    Prefix: " + (entry.Value.Prefix))
                        Console.WriteLine("    Number style: " + (entry.Value.NumberStyle))