Menu

Help cloning a failing hard drive

Help
secallery
2013-06-18
2013-06-24
  • secallery

secallery - 2013-06-18

I'm trying to image a hard drive that is slowly failing. It's a Windows XP machine running on a Pentium 5. I'm using the i486 Clonezilla Live. I can get through all the prompts to the copy, but at about 10% I start getting errors that the FAT can't be read. Then I'm told that the folder I'm using is too small and I need to expand the file size. I'm copying from a 40 gig hdd to a 250 gig usb seagate hdd.

I'm new to linux but this program came highly recommended for imaging. Let me know any information I can provide and please include instructions if it requires any linux commands. Thank you for any help.

• Gronaz

Gronaz - 2013-06-19

My story to that kind of issue: some years ago when I was in XP too, I did it with ghost DOS, telling it to ignore errors: so I reached to recover a lot of data. Not telling it to ignore errors ended in clone abort.
    Also, it was a snowy winter, and I had to do the job in the outside to keep the drive the coldest possible (HD in a fridge could help instead).

Try transpose to CloneZilla (I don't now how to tell it to ignore errors, and even if it is possible)
    Good luck man

• Gronaz

Gronaz - 2013-06-19

Secallery, I just discovered in wikipedia (in the dd page) there is a tool called ddrescue that can help you, able to ignore source drive errors.
    As you are new in linux (like I am), the good new for you is here: ddrescue is on your CZ cd/usb. Get it going to "command line" then send a "ddrescue --help" to see the thing.
    Hope for you that you feel comfortable in cloning then swapping the drives/switching in BIOS to restart to the new drive.

Bye

Last edit: Gronaz 2013-06-19
  • Gronaz

Gronaz - 2013-06-21

PS: Or in the end of cloning, instead of managing boot sequence in the BIOS, just power off the PC and unplug the failed source HD before restarting.