Menu

Kos and ia32 support

kergiomar
2007-04-16
2013-04-10
  • kergiomar

kergiomar - 2007-04-16

Hello,

Im a newbie developer on the dreamcast scene... These days im having some time to return to a game i was developing some time ago in Dx9/windows (with the funny idea to port to the dreamcast scene)... The codename is U3D, and of course, its a 3d shmup...

I have been following for some time the development of the Kos and i think it matches with the development i currently have in mind, the basic engine part is perfectly compatible with and open source environment (developed in C++ and STL, pointer management, cooperative multitasker, and such ), about the 3D engine, its developed on DX9 (for now) but i would like to make it SDL and OpenGL friendly...

I have messing with the DDEr3 developer kit which support Kos (1.3 svn 385) under cygwin, and i could generate some elf binaries (I have the DC/coders cable but my laptop lacks of serial ports! :( ). But i was more interested on the IA32 part and the possibility to test the executables on windows... But i realized that this part have been disable on this build, and i didnt manage to recompile it a bit even with the latest svn build :(,... And there isnt any docs apart from the basic configuration to understand it...

Please, could anyone give me some support? , for some time i have been trying to develop on the GP32 and i had the same problems about debugging...

Regards,

• 3yE

3yE - 2009-09-09

Are you still there?

I don't think KallistiOS is of any help on a PC. It's a bare metal middleware, you would not run it under Windows. Nor do you really have any OpenGL support there, just a fake one for Dreamcast which is barely good enough to display a textured cube, but already not good enough to display a lit textured cube. It's not anywhere near fast either - the old PVR codebase it was based on was good for only a few thousand polys per frame.

Good luck with your project though. How far along were you with it?