xfe Icon

User Ratings

★★★★★
★★★★
★★★
★★
25
2
0
0
0
ease 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
features 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
design 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
support 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5 4 / 5
Write a Review

User Reviews

  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If Microsoft's developers did something right with Windows, it's the GUI (pre Win8). Neither is it a bad thing nor a shame to adopt some of these aspects / features - Microsoft obviously has very skilled developers. As much as I like Linux, most available file managers seem to try to be unique, different, or the opposite to Windows Explorer. Let go the hate and do the right thing. Xfe is so far the most comfortable file manager I have seen / used on Linux.

    Posted 06/30/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    all features I need, unlike tux commander where I cannot configure shortcuts, select multiuple files... rich featured though the design=UI seems a but "back in the times" like 15-20 yrs ago, but the UX is quite good but I'm missing a panel for file options like in krusader a bit - but that's maybe only my personal taste cause I'm accustomed to that a bit

    Posted 02/22/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    If this has editable context menus with "appearance conditions" a la Thunar, instead of a scripts folder a la Nautilus, it would be perfect. I wish the site had a formal feature request page. So far, unlike Thunar, it hasn't hung on me once. The feature of being able to color alternate lines in the details view differently makes this a lot easier to use without the oops-wrong-file syndrome. How hard would it be to add Thunar-style custom actions, and what language would I need to learn to attempt it?

    Posted 02/14/2016
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    This is great, thank you! Yes, I admit it, I like Windows Explorer, esp. the relatively intuitive keyboard traversal. Nemo, at least, doesn't really give me that. I do see that Xfe hasn't been updated in over a year now. Is this still being maintained? I would like to see an option, like in Windows Explorer, to remember the last view settings for an individual folder, while maintaining the default setting. Am I missing this? Update: I just found the option to enable Shift-Delete for permanent file/dir deletion. All good there, thanks.

    Posted 11/25/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Excellent file manager.

    Posted 11/12/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Works really well.

    Posted 10/01/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    At the sourceforge you can find the only distro with XFE as default file manager. The name of the distro is Debox. I make some tweaks at xfe and maybe the most important is the dificulty to create themes (the names of the icon files are diferent from gnome and kde). I hope that this will be fixed at the future. Gio

    Posted 08/08/2014
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    I've been using xfe since 2006 when I switched my desktops to Linux. Never found anything better (actually, I didn't search, there's no need to do so). Merci, Roland.

    Posted 11/30/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Xfe is excellent! Thanks.

    Posted 05/13/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    One of the best file managers I have ever used. Head and shoulders above Nautilus. It's blazingly fast and versatile.

    Posted 03/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe, easy to use

    Posted 02/15/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe works great

    Posted 01/23/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    XFE is perfect for the light *nix user. It's has all of the functionality necessary without any extra baggage. Cleanly installed and locates it's /home/$USER files nicely. It even comes with a really fast, and lightweight text editor and image viewer for quick tasks on the fly. Easy to configure. Perfect.

    Posted 01/03/2013
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast and simple.

    Posted 12/21/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe is swift, very light (as I write it's using 2.4 MB RAM on Linux 3.2.0-33 amd64), has very few dependencies and has (to me) the most sensible defaults of any dual-pane file manager on *nix. For instance, xfe does quick search without you having to press any modifier keys and automatically displays file sizes in a human-readable format. The only downsides I can think of are that it can't automatically reuse elements of your KDE, GNOME or MATE theme like colors, icon or widgets, though you can change them manually (it's a natural consequence of it using the tiny "FOX" GUI toolkit), and the lack of tabs. Overall, highly recommended, esp. if you don't have a large DE and its libraries and don't want them.

    Posted 12/02/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    no trouble to install and run, works nicely.

    Posted 11/09/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe is fast and stable

    Posted 09/15/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    xfe works great

    Posted 03/27/2012
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Never used another file manager after the first time I used XFE. Awesome

    Posted 11/15/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Quick and awesome! Ukrainian translation coming soon (from me) :-)

    Posted 09/07/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Very professional!

    Posted 07/13/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Best file manager ever.

    Posted 04/19/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Fast, light, and intuitive. What more does one need?

    Posted 01/03/2011
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    First and foremost: it’s fast! But the integration with popular distros could be better.

    Posted 10/18/2010
  • 1 of 5 2 of 5 3 of 5 4 of 5 5 of 5

    Definitely the way to go. Does what it needs to do.

    Posted 04/14/2010
Show next 2 reviews

Thanks for helping keep SourceForge clean.

Screenshot instructions:
Windows
Mac
Red Hat Linux   Ubuntu

Click URL instructions:
Right-click on ad, choose "Copy Link", then paste here →
(This may not be possible with some types of ads)

More information about our ad policies
X

Briefly describe the problem (required):

Upload screenshot of ad (required):
Select a file, or drag & drop file here.

Please provide the ad click URL, if possible:

Get latest updates about Open Source Projects, Conferences and News.

Sign up for the SourceForge newsletter:

No, thanks